Join us Thursday at 9:30 am ET as we cover the Senate Judiciary Committee vote on whether to confirm John Roberts as the next Chief Justice of the US Supreme Court.

You can watch or listen online at C-SPAN.
Only two Democrats on the committee have publicly announced how they will vote: Kennedy (D-MA) is opposed and Leahy (D-VT) will vote for Roberts.

Roberts will be confirmed by the committee and by the full senate next week. The only question left to be answered is how many Democrats will oppose his confirmation. So far, along with Kennedy, Corzine, Lautenberg, Boxer, Reid, and Kerry have stated they’ll vote against Roberts. Obama will decide by the end of the week. Baucus and Johnson (SD) have said they will vote for confirmation.

It’s all over but the counting. Hopefully, the other Democrats on the Senate Judiciary Committee will follow Kennedy’s lead. We’ll see what happens.

(Please don’t post pics. Thanks.)

Senate Judiciary Committee Votes

Leahy – yes
Feinstein – no
Kennedy – no
Biden – no
Kohl – yes
Feingold – yes
Schumer – no
Durbin – no

Specter – yes
Hatch – yes
Grassley – yes
Kyl – yes
DeWine – yes
Sessions – yes
Graham – yes
Cornyn – yes
Brownback – yes

0 0 votes
Article Rating