In 1974, Vermont Senator George Aiken, who had served in the U.S. Senate since 1941, decided not to seek reelection. The Democrats picked up the seat.

In 1974, the seat held by Vermont Republican George Aiken was won by Democrat Patrick Leahy with a plurality 49.5 percent of the vote defeating Congressman Richard Mallary. (With Vermont’s other current senator Bernie Sanders winning 4.1 percent on the Liberty Union ticket).

Pretty amazing that only two men have served in the seat since the Pearl Harbor attacks.

0 0 votes
Article Rating